There is a group of South Koreans I’ve been arguing against for the past month. They have claimed ridiculous things such as “global warming is a hoax, Obama is a muslim, and homosexuality is not natural.”

Recently, one of them asked me “if I were homosexual, and if I were top or bottom?” followed by a link to a horrendous video that accuses homosexuality of malice and evil. They believe this because, apparently, homosexuals wish to make everyone homosexual, and because homosexual intercourse may hurt.

He also insinuated that it isn’t normal for a straight man to defend homosexuality so much, and tried to shame me for doing so. I responded in kind:

“It is disgusting how you try to shame me by insinuating that most men do not support the LGBTQ movement. There are, in fact, many straight men who support the LGBTQ movement: Noam Chomsky, Bernie Sanders, Gary Johnson, George H.W. Bush, Dick Cheney, and the list goes on. As you can see, the support comes from both conservatives and liberals. I think you should be ashamed of not standing beside these individuals. You should be ashamed of spreading lies, conspiracies, and phobia.”

I usually don’t speak too much on these issues. I don’t feel like I have anything important to say on the matter. Plus, I am heterosexual, so these issues do not affect me in any personal way. Nonetheless, today I can’t shake off this feeling of disgust and anger. I think it bothers me because they are making fun of someone for the wrong reasons. It is like making fun of someone for being disabled, Black, or Asian. It is ugly and horrible.

This is the video that started everything. Here, he defends Trump and all of the bigotry I mentioned already. The video is in Korean, so you might not understand it. But if you believe, as I do, that this kind of bigotry should not prosper, then I urge you to downvote this ugly video. I am already sickened by the recent shooting, and I believe it is imperative for us to actively fight such bigotry.

Leave a Reply

